PDA

View Full Version : I Think This is a scam... WDYT?


RS2K
24-02-2009, 13:37
I've put my Audi for sale on Pistsonheads

http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/912398.htm

I've had the first email from someone which said

"Advise if the car still available for sale and confirm the asking price as it is stated on the advert"

I replied

"Yes the Car is still for sale and the asking price is correct."

He then replied

"State the price" Strange!!!!

I replied

"Bit of a strange request as you can see it in the advert.
The asking price is £12.995"

Then he replied

"Thanks for your prompt response,I will like you to know that I have
had informations about your car and i promised to purchase it from
you .
So first of all I will like you to please put this car off advert to
avoid interrruptions from other buyers as I will want you to count it
sold,ok.
Due to my condition of payment,i will conviniently pay £12400.00 for it .
i will send you a cheque/Bankers draft of £4,500.00 .
You will deduct £1,000.00 as a deposit for it which is non-refundable.
You will send £3,500.00 to shipping agent asap the cheque has
cleared. I was informed by him that, he will need the money for
shipping in advance at least a weekend before i will be in Uk
The remaining balance of £11500.00 payed into your bank account or by
cash before it can be pick up.i will be waiting for 48hrs for you to
confirmed the balance before the shipping agent can picked up it .
You need not to worry as our prepaid shipping Agent will come to pick
it up from your base for shippment asap the balance has been
confirmed by you .the reason for this shippment method is as a result
of the conjestion at the singapore seaport, which does not make it
directly shippable there.
I will compensating you with £100 for the time involve in paying the
shipping agent and also want you to withdrawl the advert.
confirm this and provide name, address and Mobile phone number for
cheque/Bankers draft payment to be delivered to you .I look forward to
a successful transaction with you and await your urgent response.
John"


His email address reads johnlarim@gmail.com (johnlarim@gmail.com)

This smells of a scam to me.... what do you guy's think?

Kevrs2000
24-02-2009, 13:57
Scam Scam Scam dont even think about it this was on a BBC prog recently

LOUIE
24-02-2009, 14:03
bloody scammers, get him round and shoot him!!!!

Rallyman72
24-02-2009, 14:07
Blatant and classic scam.

You pay the draft in, pay out the £3,500 and then, some days or even weeks later the draft bounces as a forgery - you are £3,500 out of pocket to them. The instructions will be that you need to pay over the cash, probably to a burly foreign bloke, the same day you pay the draft into your account.

Don't touch it with a bargepole!

rsderek
24-02-2009, 14:59
This was on the news and a crimewatch programe on it. As above the cheque is a forgery but due to the uk banking system, a cheque will automaticially present itself for clearence normally after 3 working days and 6 for non uk cheques. But by the time this draft gets back to the originator it has cleared.
The bank that the draft has been drawn against will recieve it back for payment but they report it as a forgery or stolen & the bank then legally withholds payment. Its then that your bank will debit your account. This could take betewwn 5 -12 weeks for the whole thing to come to light. Wereas you have now got another car etc and then find a letter from your bank asking you to contact them immediatley. Nasty sting.

They're not as generous as they used to be as they were giving 5k for your trouble and also asked you to clear an additional 5-10 k and give it to the guy that collects your car. They have your car and 5-10 k that your pay back.

good scam but the vunerable get caught. So as everyone has said, tell him to feck off.

good luck and dont get caught. thieves exploiting the uk banking system.


cheeRS



Derek;)

driverace
24-02-2009, 15:06
As mentioned above it is definatly a Scam,carry on with your advert and hope you get a genuine buyer hopefully

RS2K
24-02-2009, 15:11
Thanks Guy's......

Like i said i thought it was a scam..... but you never know.....

Just got this from Pistonheads

"Hi,

You recently received a response to your advert on PistonHeads from 'johnlarim@gmail.com'.

The patterns of behaviour exhibited would suggest to us that they are not a genuine buyer.

We recommend that you ignore the enquiry.

Common scam attempts are detailed here: http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/warnings.asp

Regards,
PH


Pistonheads.com - Proactive in combating fraud"


Good to see there on the case too........





BTW.... Anyone want a Nice Audi A4:D

Chesney
24-02-2009, 15:22
BIT LIKE RECENT FOREST RESULTS MATE, BLOODY AWFUL!! scam :mad:

TimGR
24-02-2009, 16:19
Surprised you needed to ask!

Above though, there is a difference between a bankers draft and a cheque. A cheque may bounce a draft should not - it would only have been given by the bank against funds in the account.

topaz
24-02-2009, 16:21
you need to scam him back

http://www.419eater.com/html/trophy_room.htm

Banishit
24-02-2009, 16:28
I have had imformations ? thats a great grammatically sound sentence